PowerPoint Workplace Hell

I’ve noticed an alarming trend in business: the re-purposing of PowerPoint into a pseudo-Word document. I bet you’ve seen this too. Big corporations develop a slick-looking slide design template. Add in the customer’s logo and some boilerplate text, and <!–begin rant–> then just go NUTS! Use the PowerPoint medium for EVERYTHING, even things that would be better served in Excel or Word. The more you can cram onto the slide, the better!! <!–end rant–>

Don’t get me wrong–PowerPoint is not the problem. I like PowerPoint, and I use it a lot. PowerPoint works GREAT as a visual asset to an oral presentation. It even works great for design projects (see Pecha Kucha.) But it does not work as a way to display a complex, tabled/charted teeny tiny report to a room full of people. That’s not sharing: that’s just making things difficult.

My top five rules for PowerPoint:

  1. No more than three bullets per slide
  2. No more than seven words per bullet
  3. Lots of visuals (but only if they add something to your persuasive point)
  4. No more than 20 slides (20 X 20, the Pecha Kucha standard, is kind of nice & symmetrical.)
  5. No reading your slides*
    (*One exception: if words on your slides are important to your presentation, people with visual impairments need the context. But you don’t want a slideshow full of words anyway, right?!)

 

 

4 Comments on “PowerPoint Workplace Hell”

  1. Jasa SEO says:

    Good website! I truly love how it is simple on my eyes and the data are well written. I’m wondering how I could be notified whenever a new post has been made. I have subscribed to your RSS feed which must do the trick! Have a great day!

    Like

  2. I’m not that much of a internet reader to be honest but
    your blogs really nice, keep it up! I’ll go ahead and bookmark your site to come back down the road. All the best

    Like

  3. Howdy! This blog post couldn’t be written much better! Going through this post reminds me of my previous roommate! He continually kept talking about this. I will send this information to him. Pretty sure he’ll have a good read.
    Many thanks for sharing!

    Like

  4. WebWatcher Now says:

    I recently read your blog and am very impressed at how knowledgeble you are and your attention to detail. I was also impressed that you included some individuality to your blog rather than the same old robotic writing I see from everyone else. We would love to have you write us a WebWatcher article sometime.

    Like


Leave a Reply

