New Year’s Resolutions for Workplace Communication

ElephantAnother year has flown by. To tell the truth, the years fly by faster every year. Two weeks ago, I said goodbye to my fall semester students (what a good bunch!) and in about four weeks I’ll be meeting my new students. While I still have some time, I wanted to jot down ideas for the workplace writing I’ll do in the coming year.

1. Organize: the filing cabinet, the desktop, the email inbox, the files, the photos…it seems to be a never-ending struggle. One baby-step I can take now is to start using file-naming conventions the right way.

2. Learn something new: I’m a firm believer that learning never ends. In 2014, I am planning on finishing my graduate certificate in Interactive Media Studies. Two more courses, and I’ll have it!

3. Update professional profiles, such as LinkedIn and Slideshare: As you do learn and achieve new things, update the places that matter to you professionally. Some of us keep an up-to-date vita. Most of what I do is online, so it’s time to revisit the about.me page and all the other places that could contain outdated info.

4. Use technology to automate tasks: Anything that I can outsource to a computer is fair game! I recently bought my very first smartphone, and I’m learning about how to get Siri to find things (although she’s not as smart as I had hoped.) I’m also beginning to store things like coupons & boarding passes on my phone. For my teaching, I’ve used services such as IFTTT and Remind 101 to trigger events or send reminders. I need all the help I can get!

That’s my list, and I’m sure I’ll add more as the year goes on. Add your list in the comments! And Happy New Year!

Photo credit: user Donnawettahttp://pixabay.com/en/elephant-parade-trier-elephant-art-179076/

10 Comments on “New Year’s Resolutions for Workplace Communication”

  1. An outstanding share! I have just forwarded this
    onto a friend who was doing a little research on this.

    And he in fact ordered me breakfast because I found it for him…
    lol. So let me reword this…. Thanks for the meal!!
    But yeah, thanks for spending the time to talk about this
    issue here on your internet site.

    Like

  2. Hey there! I realize this is kind of off-topic but I had to ask.
    Does running a well-established blog such as yours require a massive amount work?
    I am completely new to blogging but I do write in my
    journal every day. I’d like to start a blog so I can share my personal experience and views online.

    Please let me know if you have any suggestions or tips for brand new aspiring blog owners.
    Thankyou!

    Like

  3. Very nice article, exactly what I needed.

    Like

  4. zombie smash says:

    I hardly leave a response, but i did a few searching and wound up here
    New Year

    Like

  5. I am regular visitor, how are you everybody?
    This paragraph posted at this site is in fact fastidious.

    Like

  6. Іt’s awesome designed for me to have a site, which is helpful designed for my knowledge.

    thаnks admin

    Like

  7. I pay a quick visit daily some websites and information sites
    to read articles, except this web site offers feature based writing.

    Like

  8. I’m truly enjoying the design and layout of your site. It’s a very easy on the eyes which makes
    it much more pleasant for me to come here and visit more often.
    Did you hire out a designer to create your theme?

    Superb work!

    Like

  9. GC180 XT says:

    Touche. Solid arguments. Keep up the good effort.

    Like

  10. kobeusa.org says:

    Howdy! I could have sworn I’ve been to this blog before but after browsing through some of
    the post I realized it’s new to me. Anyhow, I’m definitely delighted I found it
    and I’ll be bookmarking and checking back often!

    Like


Leave a Reply

